Thursday, October 18, 2018 Current Time : 19:5 In Tehran



Tehran University is the oldest and the highest ranked academic center in Iran. When established in 1934, Pharmacy and Dentistry were jointly managed by the College of Medicine. At that time, pharmacy students would complete their studies in 3 years and required to hold high school diploma as a requirement. Since 1939, the pharmacy program changed to a 4-year program and a PharmD degree has been approved to be granted to the graduates. In 1956, the Faculty of Pharmacy was separated from the Faculty of Medicine and a 5-year PharmD program was established for this major.

Before Islamic revolution in 1978, the pharmacy degree was limited to undergraduate courses but science 1986, PhD curriculum in nine different disciplines including Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmaceutics, Toxicology and Pharmacology, Pharmacognosy, Biotechnology, Food and drugs control, pharmacoepidemiology, Drug Economy and Management and Clinical pharmacy have been established. Back in the time, Tehran University of Medical Sciences was separated from Tehran University. At present, the Faculty of Pharmacy at Tehran University of Medical Sciences, is one of the most dynamic and well-equipped instructional and research centers in Iran.

Follow us on: